Leaving the Amish way…

At the beginning of this month, we did something I said we would probably never do:

We got cable.

Personally, I am usually too cheap to pay for cable and with the stuff my kids continue to do, I do not lack for entertainment.

However, we were forced to switch internet providers. The company we were with is a great company but we just could not consistently hit their towers. Hubby has always said we are in the blackhole of internet service. With my online tutoring, the demand on our internet is pretty great, so with  a big sigh and gritted teeth, we signed up with a cable company. We figured if we were going to spend money, might as well get some channels too.

The day the cable guy came to install was a miraculous day for my children. I think the technician was a little surprised that children of their generation would be awed by cable television. Third Son practically stalked the poor guy as he was doing the installation. (Third Son would live all day in front of a computer or tv, if you let him.)

Now, the children are enjoying the channels they have always loved…at other people’s houses. One show in particular is MythBusters. The language is sometimes not the best. The kids love the experiments, though.

Today, Third Son had an epiphany of an idea he wanted to submit to the show. He even mentioned he thought he should send them a letter.

He wanted to bust the myth that cats have nine lives.

That will be a pretty short episode.

Author:

Our family life revolves around our faith, home schooling, and enjoying being together and sometimes I like to write about those adventures. Also, over the past several years, I have really been trying to study the Word of God for myself and so sometimes I want to write about what I've learned as well.

Leave a comment